• Brent E. Huffman Receives Teaching Professorship from The Alumnae of Northwestern University

    The Alumnae of Northwestern University is proud to announce that Brent E. Huffman is the recipient of its Teaching Professorship.  Huffman is an award-winning documentary filmmaker and a passionate professor of documentary filmmaking. Huffman aims to train “leaders in documentary journalism who will advance the medium creatively and responsibly,” his nomination states. (excerpt from Northwestern News)
  • Denise Bouras Receives the 2023 Curriculum Innovation Award from The Alumnae of Northwestern University

    Centering the community in advanced Spanish language curriculum - Denise Bouras is an associate professor of instruction in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Spanish and Portuguese. 
  • Jeremy Keys Receives the 2023 Curriculum Innovation Award from The Alumnae of Northwestern University

    Re-inventing Mechanical Engineering 240: Increasing engineers’ inductive learning through product archaeologyJeremy Keys is an assistant professor of instruction in the McCormick School of Engineering’s Department of Mechanical Engineering.Administered by the Office of the Provost, the award recognizes and supports faculty who have innovative ideas for new courses, methods of instruction and components of existing classes. 
  • Carol Liu, Alumnae Scholar

    Carol Liu, from Chicago, Ill., Class of 2024, is the recipient of The Alumnae of Northwestern University’s Undergraduate Scholarship. This award, established in 1997, provides undergraduate scholarships with preference to a woman whose family member (her brother in this case) has attended Northwestern University. The three-year award, chosen by the Office of Financial Aid, honors a student in good academic standing. Carol is the 9th Alumnae Undergraduate Scholar.
  • Continuing Education Students Learn about American Music.

    Drew Davies, Assoc. Professor, MusicologyAssoc Prof Drew Davies and Sheila Gideon, CE co-chair, Curriculum, celebrating Czech composers. Students in this The Alumnae of Northwestern University's Continuing Education Spring quarter course learn about the Second Great Awakening from Assoc. Professor of Musicology,  Drew Davies. 
  • Peter Slevin, professor of journalism, with his doppleganger during his Continuing Education course on Dilemmas of American Power.

    Peter Slevin, professor of journalism, with his doppleganger (created by The New Yorker magazine) talking to The Alumnae's Continuing Education students about the Dilemmas of American Power. The Alumnae of Northwestern University offers Continuing Education courses open to the public Fall, Winter, and Spring quarters.  They are in-person and on-line.
  • Nina Kraus 2022 Alumnae Award Recipient with Ann Bradlow and E. Patrick Johnson

    EVANSTON, Ill. --- Nina Kraus, Hugh Knowles Professor of Communication Sciences, Neurobiology, and Otolaryngology, is the recipient of The Alumnae of Northwestern University’s 2022 Alumnae Award. As a biologist and amateur musician, she thinks about sound and brain health. Kraus is a role model for women in science and technology.


Thu, 07/28/2022 - 1:54pm

EVANSTON, Ill. --- The Alumnae of Northwestern University has selected eight students to receive 2022-2023 Alumnae STEM scholarships, which are awarded to students who excel in a STEM major (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics). Criteria for selection include academic excellence, honors achieved, and financial need.

Click here to read the complete news release about these outstanding students:  Victoria Chung, (WCAS), Emilya Ershtein, (WCAS), Miriam Hansen-Erraziqi, (WCAS), Hassan Mohammad, (WCAS), Mariya Nemesh, (WCAS), Katelyn Nguyen, McC, Lili Pope, (WCAS), and Jeongyoon Yeo, (WCAS).

Mon, 06/06/2022 - 5:38pm

The Alumnae of Northwestern University has selected four recipients to receive its 2022-23 Graduate Fellowships for graduate-level tuition. The fellowships are awarded to full-time students in terminal master’s degree programs who show promise of achieving distinction in careers that will serve the public good. Criteria for selection include quality of scholarship, leadership, community service, professional experience, and financial need. The Alumnae Graduate Fellowship Committee’s chair, Erin Leddon, notes: “The Alumnae is extremely proud to support these outstanding Northwestern graduates as they work to complete their master’s degrees.” Click here to read about the new Alumnae Graduate Fellows: Julia Odden, Rwan Ibrahim, Sally (Chan Mi) Jung, and Tanieshaa Shrestha.

Tue, 05/31/2022 - 2:37pm

The Alumnae's Centennial Endowment funds undergraduate research grants for twelve students for 2022.  Click here to read the news release about the students, their sponsors, and the research projects.

Mon, 05/09/2022 - 10:02am

The Alumnae of Northwestern University has awarded funding for seven projects that will bring guest artists and distinguished scholars to campus to enhance the undergraduate experience in 2022-2023. The grants, totaling more than $26,000, are funded with earnings from the Academic Enrichment Endowment, established in 1990 as one of The Alumnae’s 75th Anniversary gifts to the University. These grants help facilitate faculty-sponsored projects that address important and timely issues related to the visual and performing arts, environment and climate change, religion and politics, astronomy, indigenous literature, and peace activism in Korea. Some of the upcoming programs will also be of interest to graduate students, faculty, other Northwestern community members, and, in a few cases, the general public

Click here to read the complete news release about the recipients of The Alumnae's 2022 Academic Enrichment grants and their projects.


Fri, 02/04/2022 - 7:25pm

Heather Pinkett and Alessandro F. Rotta Loria have been named the 2022 recipients of The Alumnae of Northwestern University’s Award for Curriculum Innovation.

The award seeks to support faculty members offering undergraduates innovations that enhance their curriculum through new courses, methods of instruction and new components to existing classes.

The recognition comes with $12,500 in award funding to be split between innovation development ($7,000), stipend ($5,000) and the faculty member’s home department ($500). 

Pinkett will use the award to work with students to develop a national resource to increase curriculum inclusivity and address representation in STEM, and Rotta Loria will create massive real-world datasets that allow students to realize virtual geothermal energy projects with potential to impact the city.